DANCE Lab


DANCE LAB with Shannon Stewart & guest teachers Saturdays | 11am -1pm $15 Drop in | $12 with 5 -class card Starting November 4th Dance lab is a 10-class training opportunity that follows different threads of training in what we consider “contemporary" dance. Classes cater to experienced dancers/performers/movers interested in an expanded notion of technique and dance practice. Each class will focus on skill building through activities that include a combination of technique, phrase work, improvisation, partnering and group exercises. Dance LAB is geared towards participants with training in dance or movement and is welcoming of differently abled bodies. If there is a concern or need you have, please feel free to get in touch in advance - shannonkstewart(at)gmail.com DATES: Saturday Nov 4 Saturday Nov 11 Saturday Nov 18 Saturday Nov 25 Saturday Dec 2 Saturday Dec 9 Saturday Dec 16 BREAK FOR HOLIDAZE Saturday Jan 6 Saturday Jan 13 Saturday Jan 20 Shannon Stewart’s contemporary practice includes somatic tuning, guided improvisation, technical, endurance and strengthening exercises that allow dancers to increase range of motion, physical capacity and the potential for alternative virtuosities. Shannon works equally with physical and mental rigor, attention to detail, play and experimentation, and ends class with phrase work or group improvisations. Her training encompasses classical forms, somatic practices, martial arts and breakdancing. She is a certified Gyrokinesis® and Gyrotonic® instructor, as a teaching artist with the Mark Morris D4PD program for people with Parkinson’s Disease, and has trained abroad in Forsythe improvisation, gaga, and CounterTechnique. Shannon has an MFA in Interdisciplinary Dance Performance.

Featured Events
Recent Posts
Archive